Previously, it was not possible to restore a deleted conversation. But with the recently added Trash feature, any conversation you delete on the Pulse SMS Android app can now be recovered.
This feature is enabled by default in Settings > Advanced Features. When enabled, the Trash option appears in the app's side menu, which lets you see the conversations you deleted.
Deleting a conversation
There are two ways to delete a conversation and send it to the Trash:
- If you're on the Conversation List, you can long-press the conversation, then tap the trash bin icon on the top right. Alternatively, you can go to Settings > Swipe Actions and select Delete conversation so you can swipe the conversation away to delete it.
- If you're within a conversation, you can tap the 3-dot menu on the top right and select Delete conversation.
Restoring a conversation
To restore a deleted conversation, go to the side menu > Trash, then perform either of the following:
- Long-press the conversation, and tap the restore icon on the top right.
- Swipe the conversation to the right.
Deleting a conversation permanently
On the Trash screen, you can permanently delete a conversation by performing either of the following actions:
- Long-press the conversation, and tap the trash bin icon on the top right.
- Swipe the conversation to the left.
You can also delete all the conversations from the Trash by tapping the 3-dot menu on the top right, and selecting Empty Trash.
If you prefer to permanently delete conversations without placing them into the Trash, you can just disable the Trash feature in Settings > Advanced Features.
New messages in deleted conversations
When a deleted conversation is visible in the Trash, it gets restored and reappears on the Conversation List when a new message is received from the contact that's tied to the said conversation.
If the conversation is permanently deleted from the Trash, the conversation also reappears on the Conversation List. However, only the newly received message is shown, and previous messages are no longer restored.
Availability on the desktop/web app
The Trash feature is not yet available on the desktop/web app. This means that deleted conversations are not expected to sync on the desktop/web app, i.e., they may appear as regular un-deleted conversations. Nonetheless, it is part of our roadmap to make the feature available on the desktop/web app soon.